not worried about it

words

to the end

leave a comment »

Very few people read this, which I’m very okay with. Though Not Worried About It was initially intended as kind of an opening salvo in Tim’s fight to become an Internet personality, it ended up being a valuable lesson in why Tim will never and should never be an Internet personality. It’s fine, I have other skills to fall back on.

So I write today to shift (this site’s limited) attention to my new, nebulous blog: misterkennedy.wordpress.com. Long story short, I’ve graduated college, I’ve accepted a teaching gig in the Mississippi Delta with Teach for America, and I want a forum to continue writing sporadically. But I also want to make my Internet identity more coherent. I want my parents and coworkers to be able to read the same shit as my closest friends. This doesn’t mean I’ll stop swearing (clearly), though I’ve already deleted some of my more obnoxious tweets. Mostly, I want to reject the digital anonymity that I embraced a lot on this blog. From now on, I only want to publish online what I would feel comfortable speaking in a public forum anyway.

Not Worried About It could have been a lot worse. Looking back now, I feel proud about a fair amount of these entries, especially the most recent bit on Gravity’s Rainbow. But the site also very clearly feels to me like a learning experience. I don’t think I have it in me to be an especially popular blogger, which just means that whatever I publish online should be slightly more polished and formal. Quality over quantity and all that. If you knew me, you’d know that I have some serious confidence issues with my writing. But for whatever reason, people—friends, family, professors, employers—keep telling me they like reading what I write. So I’m gonna keep doing it.

Written by Tim

May 22, 2011 at 3:20 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

