not worried about it

words

on privacy

leave a comment »

Sometime in late September or early October, a visitor stumbled across this blog by Googling my username, the same username I use as an email address.  In other words, someone familiar.  I panicked.

Why?  You’ve got me.  It’s not as if I’ve disclosed anything especially private on here.  That was one of my rules from the get-go, no emotional exhibitionism, and it hasn’t proven hard to follow.  I guess I say “fuck” a little too much, but other than that, I’d feel comfortable recycling the main arguments of all of these pieces in actual conversation.  Why does the idea of someone I’ve (presumably) met in real life reading this site bother me so?  For God’s sake, the entries are written with an imaginary audience in mind.

So I immediately locked up the blog behind a privacy wall and haven’t given it much thought since.  Until I stumbled into my first journalism class of the semester on Thursday and was promptly lectured that I should be blogging, I should be tweeting, I should be “cultivating my internet identity” if I ever want to prove professionally successful in this new digital age.

I don’t know why this makes me so uneasy.  I’ve never considered myself a particularly private person.  I’m not one of those people who have an elaborately tiered system of Facebook privacy settings; I figure if the girl I sat next to in Pre-Calc wants to look at pictures of me drunkenly singing karaoke last semester, more power to her.  Under that logic, why should I care if a classmate is able to stumble across this site?  (I know this happens because I do it to others with some frequency.  I know I’m a hypocrite, spare me.)

I still do care.  It still makes me uncomfortable.  But I’m going to try to convince myself that this is a “good” discomfort, like the anxiety I felt before choosing a college and moving to New York.  Both of those decisions worked out beautifully.  Fingers crossed for this one.

My name is Tim Kennedy.  I’m a third-year journalism/cinema studies double major at New York University.  I grew up in the northwest suburbs of Chicago.  I like dogs and whiskey.  I now have a Twitter.  Pleased to meet you.

Written by Tim

January 23, 2010 at 8:43 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

